On 24 December 2009, the Republic of Liberia deposited an Instrument of Accession to ARIPO, and both the Harare and Banjul Protocols will therefore enter into force in respect of Liberia on 24 March 2010.

Liberia becomes the 17th member State of the Harare Protocol on patents, designs, and utility models, and the 9th member State of the Banjul Protocol on trade marks. 

The Banjul Protocol permits the proprietor of a mark to designate a State which becomes a party to the Protocol subsequent to the filing or registration of the mark. However, there is no such provision for the later designation of States in relation to existing patents or patent applications.