It is anticipated that the Eurasian Patent Office will start accepting design applications from 1st June 2021 following a recent announcement. Such rights will initially provide regional protection in five of the eight member states of the Eurasian Patent Organisation (EAPO) in which the Protocol has entered into force, namely Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia. In the remaining three member states (Belarus, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan), the Protocol will enter into force 3 months after the state’s accession or deposit of its instrument of ratification.  Designs will be effective in the member states where the Protocol was in force on the filing date of the design, under Article 22 of the Protocol.


As previously reported, Eurasian design patent applications will be filed with the EAPO either directly or through the national patent office of an EAPO member state. All applications must be filed in Russian, the official language of the EAPO. Once granted, Eurasian design patents will be valid for 5 years counting from the filing date and will be renewable for up to 4 additional 5-year periods, so that the maximum term of protection will be 25 years.


For more information please contact the author, Richard Stilwell, at