As you may be aware, the jurisdiction of the Netherlands Antilles split into three separate jurisdictions on 10 October 2010. Existing Netherlands Antilles trade mark registrations remain in force automatically in Curacao and St Maarten until the next renewal date.

However, the smaller islands of Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba (BES Islands) are now part of the Kingdom of The Netherlands and have been renamed the 'Caribbean Netherlands'. A Caribbean Netherlands Trade Mark Office has been set up, and is administered by the Benelux Trade Mark Office.

Existing Netherlands Antilles registrations need to be reconfirmed at the Caribbean Netherlands Trade Mark Office by 10 October 2011. This deadline is final, and no extensions of time are permitted.

If you would like us to attend to the reconfirmation of any Netherlands Antilles registrations, we would stress that we require your instructions by 3 October 2011 at the very latest.